DOT news |


How Many Levels of DOT Inspections Are There?

Written by:

Nick Kovgunov

A man wearing an orange safety vest writes on a clipboard.

How Many Levels of DOT Inspections Are There?

When it comes to DOT inspections, all drivers should understand the six levels and what each is looking for. As for who can perform a DOT inspection, they will usually be either a state trooper, a member of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), or a member of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA).

These inspections are routinely performed to ensure drivers are adhering to the rules, and usually, last less than an hour. In this article, we will break down each level and help you understand what DOT inspections look for.

The Six Levels of DOT Inspections

DOT Inspections

Next time your inspection comes around, just keep these levels in mind so that you know what to expect. As long as you are following DOT guidelines, your documentation is up to date, and your vehicle is regularly serviced, you should have no issues.

If you’re looking for the trucking jobs you’ve always wanted, let the US Trucking Service help you find them. Contact us today for more information.